Critchley Cup

This year the Critchley Cup was played at Royal Liverpool Golf Club on the afternoon of Sunday, 12th of July. I am delighted to say that this year almost 30 Old St. Beghian golfers attended, nearly double that of the previous year. I’m sure those who were there will agree that the club was most welcoming and the course in superb condition.
Following a buffet lunch in the club house, the day was started by the school’s professional, Stuart Hemmings, taking the first shot. Despite the summer’s day and the benign conditions that were being experienced elsewhere in the country, on arriving on the first tee it was surprising to feel a stiff breeze off the Irish Sea – typical links golf.
The course provided a stern but fair test of golf for all competitors. The Critchley Cup was eventually won by John Currie, playing off 7 handicap, with a magnificent score of 39 Stableford points.
Following the conclusion of the golf, the prize presentation took place in the clubhouse immediately afterwards. After the presentation of the prizes, James Doggett took the opportunity to thank former secretary, Andrew Johnston, for his hard work over the previous ten years, presenting him with a dozen wine glasses, each proudly displaying the society logo. Michael Coffey then invited Alec MacCaig to say a few words about outgoing president Tom Sharp’s Old St Beghian golfing career - fitting tributes as both have been representing the society for over 60 years. Tom was then presented with 24 engraved champagne flutes and an ice bucket, to commemorate his 35 years as Golfing Society President.
Finally, as a thank you to Alec, Michael presented him with two whiskey glasses that commemorated his 60 years of service to the society. Alec has a long and distinguished OSB golfing career and his finest accolade is probably that he is the only person in Halford Hewitt history (from any school) to have represented his school in the event in seven decades. A record that is unlikely to be beaten and something that we are all very proud of.

Critchley Cup (1st)                                   J. Currie 39 points
Farquies Fortifier (2nd)                               C. Lamont 34 points
Bill Fox Cup (Gross Prize)                          A. Peckitt 79 points
Ken Case Tankard (Over 60 years)             M.W.A. Coffey 30 points
Dick Harrison Cup (Over 12 handicap)             P. Delaney 32 points

Other attendees:
S. Hemmings, A. Deall, J. Doggett, R. Smith, A. Goodwin, M. Morrison, C. Crummey, M. Stamper, I. Arnott, N. Morton, R. Atkinson, A.T. Johnston, C. Lamont, A. Fox, I. Crawford, N. Crossland, N. Campbell, D. Cade, P. Brierley, J. Brindle, P. Bloomer, C. Hall, T. Sharp.

Photos of the day can be seen on the website

The St. Beghian Society, St. Bees School, St. Bees, Cumbria, CA27 0DS

tel: 01946 828093